The SCV Education Foundation Honors Our Educational Rock Stars

by | Mar 29, 2018 | Community

The SCV Education Foundation will be hosting its 34th Annual Teacher Tribute on Tuesday, April 24 at 6:30 p.m. This annual event honors one teacher from each of the 54 public schools from the Santa Clarita Valley.
“The Santa Clarita Valley public school system ranks among the top 10 percent in California, due in most part to the critical role our teachers play. I know my family has benefited from the outstanding education provided at our local schools and I know yours has too. For that reason, we invite the public to join us to honor the top teachers in Santa Clarita”, says Jim Backer, founder and Board President.
This year the event theme is, “Celebrating Our Educational Rock Stars” and will be held at the new Canyon Club located at the Valencia Town Center, 24201 West Valencia Blvd, Valencia, CA 91355. A full dinner reception will be held for the honorees at 5 p.m. followed by the program at 6:30 p.m.
Jackie Hartmann, Executive Director, notes that the organization is excited to be able to host this event at the new Canyon Club, as it is “the perfect venue for this event as it coincides so well without theme. The Canyon Club is a concert venue and we have 54 educational rock stars that will share the spotlight at this year’s Teacher Tribute”.
For more information or to purchase ceremony tickets, please visit the SCV Education Foundation website at:

Teachers Name: School:
Amy Alexander Charles Helmers
Ravinder Athwal Bowman High School
Denise Baker Learning Post
Jill Benz Highlands Elementary
Alison Bertola Fair Oaks Ranch Community
Jennifer Borges Mint Canyon Community
Terri Bosh Golden Oak Community
Karen Bowcott Skyblue Mesa Elementary
Donna Burkman Pinetree Community
Stephanie Caneday Sierra Vista Jr. High
Beth Chamberlin Northlake Hills
George Chavez II McGrath Elementary
Carine Clewis Rancho Pico Jr. High
Molly Cop Pico Canyon Elementary
Linda Cox West Ranch High
Jessica Dabbeekah La Mesa Jr. High
Tiffany Desmond Emblem Academy
Catherine Ethington Peachland Elementary
Jamie Foderaro Golden Valley High School
Lan Giang Castaic Elementary
Kathy Hale Meadows Elementary
Katharine Harman Stevenson Ranch Elementary
Laura Hawkins Valley View Community
Beth Holen Castaic Middle
Roberta Javier Tesoro del Valle Elementary
Lillian Kemple Wiley Canyon Elementary
Amy King Plum Canyon Elementary
Martin Kirby Hart High
Barbara Lewin Mitchell Community
Cecilia Lorett Rio Vista Elementary
Monica Ludlow Placerita Jr. High
Monica Lunde Saugus High
Donna Lynch Rosedell Elementary
Melissa Marcucilli James Foster Elementary
Jessica Meraz Arroyo Seco Jr. High
Cynthia Monjoy Valencia Valley Elementary
Brenda Monteleone Valencia High
Guisla Morales Old Orchard Elementary
Kelley Orlando Mountainview Elementary
Terressa Parks Oak Hills Elementary
Rachel Perez Santa Clarita Elementary
Hayley Perez Leona Cox Community
Mary Purdy Canyon High School
Jennifer Ramos Westcreek Academy
Teri Rodriguez Sequoia Charter
Connie Russo Newhall Elementary
Matthew Sheridan Rio Norte Jr. High
Michele Siner Academy of the Canyons
Kerry Summers Live Oak Elementary
Beatriz Vargas Sulphur Springs Community
Lynette Vermeulen Canyon Springs Community
Tori Watson Cedarcreek Elementary
Erin Wiseman North Park Elementary



Holiday Lights Spectacular

  Santa Clarita is celebrating the holidays with bigger and better lights than ever. Here are just a few locations to enjoy. Hot cocoa and family recommended. Wakefield Court - Saugus Everyone’s favorite holiday double cul-de-sac decked out with lights and massive...

read more


The Magazine of Santa Clarita has set a high standard for excellence in advertising for over 25 years. A family owned and operated business, The Magazine of Santa Clarita has grown with the Santa Clarita Valley since 1989 and become the #1 place to advertise locally.