Zonta Installs New Officers, Names Zontian of the Year

by | Jul 22, 2019 | Business News

 Zonta Club of Santa Clarita Valley installed Barbara Meyer as its new president for 2019-20, honored outgoing President Debra Blakeley and named super-active club member and three-time club past president Judy Penman as Zontian of the Year at the group’s annual installation dinner recently at the Oaks Club (formerly the Tournament Players’ Club) in Valencia.
In her 27 years of service in the SCV Zonta Club, Penman has held every position except treasurer. She chaired this year’s Women in Service Celebration brunch and was honored for her consistent support of Zonta’s mission of helping all women and children locally and internationally.
Having moved to Arizona recently, Penman remains a member of the Santa Clarita Valley club.
In the community, she has been involved with most non-profits in the SCV, starting with Zonta and then Domestic Violence Center, where she is the longest living member of the board for 13 years and president for three years. She then joined the board of Circle of Hope and served three years as president, continuing with that non-profit as secretary and fundraiser. Penman also joined the WISH Foundation board, serving the Wm. S. Hart Union High School District. She then joined the Assistance League, where she served on the board for four years, two years as philanthropic vice president, and two years as first vice president of resource development.
She also ushers at the local Performing Arts Center and is on the board of the Senior Center Advisory Committee, where she is fundraising chair. An active supporter of the Boys and Girls Club, she chaired that organization’s annual auction for several years.
“Judy volunteers because she believes in helping others, however she can,” her nomination continued. “She has been volunteering since she arrived in Santa Clarita, after meeting the dynamic women in Zonta who got her involved in all other events in the community. Judy believes that receiving this award from her peers is one of the best awards she would ever get, as she goes into a new chapter of her life.”
Zontian of the Year is selected from member nominations. The final winner is selected not only for her leadership in Zonta, but also in the way she represents the club in the local community. The final selection committee is composed of former honorees. In making the presentation, committee chair Sue Hayward also announced two honorable mention recipients—Beth Heiserman and Francine Fiel.
Meyer was installed as Zonta president by Installing Officer Sharon Langenbeck, a Zonta International president-elect and two-time recipient of Zonta’s Amelia Earhart Fellowship for women pursuing upper level degrees in aerospace and aeronautics–a member of the local club as well as an international dignitary. Meyer chose “Let’s just do it!” as her theme for the upcoming year.
Other officers and board members installed at the annual dinner include Beth Heiserman, president-elect; Suzie Alziebler, first vice president-programs; Cathy Gundy, second vice president-membership; Adele Macpherson, treasurer; Edna Dimatage-Fernandez, secretary; and Barbara Cochran, Dianne Curtis and Alicia Estrada, Nominating Committee. Curtis, as highest vote getter, will serve as committee chair.
Newly elected board members, who also were installed at the May dinner, include Christy Ferguson, Francine Fiel and Patrice Rifkind.
The evening also served as installation for three newly elected SCV Zonta Foundation trustees, who include Barbara Cochran, Adele Macpherson, Francine Fiel and Lois Bauccio. Meyer serves on the Foundation Board in an ex-officio role as club president.
Outgoing President Debra Blakeley was saluted for the club’s outstanding accomplishments under her leadership in the 2018-19 club year. She received certificates of commendation from the Santa Clarita City Council, County Supervisor Kathryn Barger, and Assembly Member Scott Wilk. Mayor Marsha McLean, who also is a Zonta Club member, made the presentations on behalf of the other elected officials.
All of the club’s past presidents donated door prizes, which were awarded to guests throughout the evening. In lieu of the traditional past president’s gift, Blakeley chose to donate the budgeted cost of the gift to Bridge to Home, the local homeless shelter and service coordinator.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]


Meet New Santa Clarita Mayor Bill Miranda

Meet New Santa Clarita Mayor Bill Miranda

  The City of Santa Clarita has long been a place that boasts award-winning schools, a family-friendly environment and high levels of safety. Our local government has been hard at work to maintain this same standard of excellence for our residents and businesses...

read more


Santa Clarita Magazine has set a high standard for excellence in advertising for over 30 years. A family owned and operated business, Santa Clarita Magazine has grown with the Santa Clarita Valley since 1990 and become the #1 place to advertise locally.